The academic year


The academic year is divided into winter semester and summer semester. Each semester consists of a period during which courses are held and a lecuture-free period ("holidays").


Winter semester 2021/22

Beginning of semester and classes1 October 2021
No classes2 November 2021
Christmas break20 December 2021 to 6 January 2022
End of classes31 January 2022
Lecture-free period (semester break)1 to 28 February 2022
End of semester28 February 2022

Summer semester 2022

Beginning of semester and classes1 March 2022
Rectors' Day (no classes)11 March 2022
Easter break11 to 24 April 2022
Whitsun break4 to 7 June 2022
End of classes30 June 2022
Lecture-free period (summer break)1 July bis 30 September 2022
End of semester30 September 2022