Amount of the tuition fee/Students' Union fee non-EU/EEA citizens

The amount of the tuition fee varies depending on your citizenship. 

  • You have to pay your fee every semester in due time in order to continue your degree programme.
  • Swiss citizens are treated in the same way as EU/EEA citizens regarding the tuition fee regulations.

General rule

Students who are citizens of a non-EU/EEA country pay a fee of 726.72 Euro plus the Students' Union fee of 24.70 Euro per semester (total sum of 751.42 Euro) unless one of the following exceptions applies.

Exception 1: Students from designated developing countries

Students with a citizenship of one of the following countries are exempt from paying the tuition fee. The tuition fee is remitted during their entire degree programme, so they only have to pay the Students’ Union fee every semester.


  • Country list annex 3

    Afghanistan • Angola • Bangladesh • Benin • Bhutan • Burkina Faso • Burundi • Cambodia • Central African Republic • Chad • Comores • Congo - Democratic Republic • Djibouti • Eritrea • Ethiopia • Gambia • Guinea • Guinea-Bissau • Haiti • Kiribati • Lao - People's Democratic Republic • Lesotho • Liberia • Madagascar • Malawi • Mali • Mauritania • Mazambique • Myanmar • Nepal • Niger • Rwanda • Sâo Tomé and Principe • Senegal • Sierra Leone • Solomon Islands • Somalia • South Sudan • Sudan • United Republic of Tanzania • Timor-Leste • Togo • Tuvalu • Uganda • Yemen • Zambia

Exception 2: Equal status with EU/EEA citizens


Persons to whom the decree on certain groups of persons applies or who have a residence permit other than "Student", can apply for equal status with EU/EEA citizens.  

The same tuition fee regulation as for EU/EEA citizens applies. You have to submit the application for equal status correctly and in time. All applications are processed individually.

Exception 3: UK citizenship and admission to a degree programme before summer semester 2021

UK students, who were admitted to a degree programme up to and including winter semester 2020/21 (first-time admission at the University of Vienna was completed before the 31 December 2020), and do not interrupt their studies, pay the same tuition/Student’s Union fee as EU/EEA citizens.

If the above applies to you, and you interrupt your studies for one or more semesters, you have to pay the tuition for non-EU/EEA citizens once you resume your studies.

Exception 4: Ukrainian citizens

The tuition fee for summer semester 2024 is remitted for students with Ukrainian citizenship. Only the Students' Union fee is prescribed.